How I vision my characters as I write…

Lana Del Rey and Paul Marron

Lana Del Rey and Paul Marron

Alright, don’t laugh too hard at my botchy job! I got a tad bored today and played around with some cover ideas. This is as close as I could get how I vision my characters in this Brazilian thriller I am writing… Searching for the right model to portray my “Jared Stirling” I found Paul Marron… That’s when I realized, “Holy crap, he’s on SO many of my favorite books covers and I have yet to realize that…” But, with grey eyes and hair just a bit longer, swept back and down to his ears, is my Jared.

And then, there’s the stunning “Lana Del Rey”. Only, in my book, Gemma has eyes that are as beautiful as emeralds. This is pretty much my dream cover. Well…with a professional touch and maybe even actual poses. I don’t think I will be recieving any Photo of the Year award for this, for goodness sake. Unless I was nominated by a preschool 😀 *ponders the photo*

I also figured out a somewhat perfect setting in the Amazon, finally. Their main “hub” and go-to town is Iquitos. It’s full of culture, tourists (which allows Gemma to take her vacation to) and plenty of markets to stock up on food and our ‘bad’ guys can head back out and survive in the jungle.

Hidden beneath all this foliage somewhere, on either side, far or near, up or down the river , hides the bad guys. You’ll never find them, and if you do… *evil laughter*

So… there you have it. I am still working on the chemistry between the plot, setting, characters, and dialogue, but I know how it will begin and how it ends, and some climaxes, and turns and wooaaahhh, there goes my mind spinning again. Anyhoooo, thought it would be fun to share some of the stuff I am working on and researching with you guys =D
AH yes, as you see I have solved last night’s dilemma of name picking. What do you guys think? Jared Stirling and Gemma Ainsley.

Join me on Facebook! Facebook.com/TheBooknatics
My other page: http://thebooknatic.wordpress.com/

Posted on February 7, 2013, in Blogging, Storytelling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hi there!
    I’ve nominated you for a “Shine on Award” at
    http://booknatics.wordpress.com/2013/02/27/shine-award/
    At the bottom of the post, are the questions I have for you. After you post your answers, nominate five of your favorite bloggers =)

Leave a Reply

