Let’s Chat: Music with Writing and Other Muses

Fgallery16-11 (1)

Art by Hanne Lore Koehler

There’s something magical about music. It has the ability to translocate you to another place and time, to uproot emotions you’ve felt so long ago, and help you feel parts of your soul you never knew existed. These are some of the reasons why I am able to write as I have a playlist of my favorite melodies playing in the background.
That’s not saying I absolutely can’t write in total peace, because I can; I just have a stronger connection to the words I feel in my heart as I put them onto a page, out of the mouths of the characters that are born from some of my deepest emotions that are reminded by a simple tune, or lyrics with a familiar story.

Music isn’t my only muse, but it’s definitely one of the top drivers for me.

Other factors of inspiration for me are: being out in the sun surrounded by nature; or hanging out by a window during a loud storm; the impression people leave on me when we first meet; and so many more than I can list right now.

Here are some of my questions for you:

1) Maybe music isn’t what drives you. What keeps your muse alive?

2) Do you prefer absolute silence when you write, or do you have a song playing softly in the background? Or maybe both work for you?

3) Can you remember the first story you ever wrote? What inspired you?


Have any questions for me? Post below! Let’s have some fun! 

Posted on May 21, 2016, in Blogging and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m just like you, Sky. Music is a huge part of my writing routine. I create a playlist for each book. Most of the time I cover my eyes with my palms, listen to the whole playlist, and visualize “the movie” before I begin to write. While I’m writing, I’ll usually put on classical, ambient, white noise, or something else instrumental so I don’t get jumbled up. Nature and interesting new people always help perk up the muse too. Thanks for sharing this post!

    • Thank you so much for stopping by!
      That’s a great technique you have down, not only does it help you visualize before you go into writing, it works as a great meditation to keep you in the writing mind-frame!

Leave a Reply

