Journal Post — June 12th 2017

How is it already June? This is why I can’t have nice things.

I make a writing goal, it goes splendid for the first few months, and then–BAM. Middle of the year slump due to inevitable procrastinating because .  . . THINGS are HAPPENING and my mind becomes a black hole where brainstorms go to die and vanish.

*clears throat*

All right, that was a tad over-dramatic–but for real–how is it already June?

Progress Update: My Young Adult book I was trying to complete before the end of this year was nearly finished and at a vital moment in the story, I was finally able to identify that nagging feeling I had throughout the writing process. My main character, Jasmine, wanted to speak for herself. So what did I do? I went back and re-wrote the ENTIRE book in first person . . . present tense. I blame Jasmine for it all. She’s just as stubborn as I am.

This brings me to my question for this month: As a reader, do you enjoy reading in first person/present tense? Do you loathe it? Or do you not mind either way? I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below!

Thank you!

Posted on June 12, 2017, in Blogging, Jounal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I would love to hear your thoughts on this, because I feel completely crazy right now!

Leave a Reply

